Third one is a gift

Posted: January 24, 2017 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

It has been a long while since I wrote on this blog. So I am back at it and am also going to finish of my second novel’s first draft.

A friend of mine asked me to write a short story for her birthday, so naturally I started thinking immediately.

“What kind of short story?”

“Absurd.”

I have written an absurd tale in the past, but knowing that she had also enjoyed some absurd stories I did not think I would be able, but out of the blue an idea popped into my head. This time I had no clue where it came from. I took something my friend loved, turned into an antagonist, and figured out a moral of the story.

Then for the first time in a long while I decided to write in the first person point of view. Usually it is something I avoid in favour of the third person limited point of view, however this would turn out to be good practice for me. When I showed her a sample, she thought it was already a short story. That is, dear reader, because most non writers do not use the word short story like writers do. For them it can be five hundred words and perhaps that is true when short is used adjectivally, but I meant the real deal. I would write her ten thousand words about a man who finds himself stranded and who has to make questionable decisions when a “good” Samaritan shows up.

I am almost at a thousand words now and this is starting to entertain me a lot.

Have you ever written a gift for a friend?

Leave a Reply

