Grandiloquence

Posted: May 12, 2015 in Pointers
Tags: , ,

As days have passed by and it came to my mind that certain people think that they are unique… I want a grand return to my blog. I am the hero of this white page. My action is saving it from being utterly boring.. with the coming and going of the #hipstercop, I was so delighted by the wit of people. Enchanted, one may say.

This is my return. It may be slow and you should not expect much, but that (↑) is not my voice. So without further ado. With no more hesitation. It is time for me to speak about the ins and outs of a writer’s mind, my journey and some or other nonsense.

So what is grandiloquence? (I had to find the word) It is an essence of pretention. It can also be called verbosity and since I trust my Wikipedia writers- here is a list of synonyms “wordiness, verbiage, prolixity, grandiloquence, garrulousness, expatiation, logorrhea, and Sesquipedalianism.”

How often do writers use grandiloquence? Such a matter is up for debate and if you contemplate about it….( ←)TOO OFTEN!
Now, I don’t mean to boast, (this is a white lie) I do not use grandiloquence often .Here(↑) it was on purpose. I don’t want to make writing sound technical, because then I would be wasting your time, but here is another secret. ( you know… those common sense secrets)

Say it like it is and how you know it will be said. Always use appropriate language or language that applies to the character. If you do not do this you are making the character less believable. And believe it or not, (see the wordplay) ←(oops)↔ subtlety can be the writer’s greatest asset. (maybe that’s a tad diplomatic) You can not for the sake of your soul write without subtlety. It is also the master characterizer. Grandiloquence is the enemy of subtlety. A story is best told if the writer is not playing a trumpet announcing his grand vocabulary. A story is best told when the writer fades into his world and his voice becomes a part of the story without any reader suspecting it.

Do I have some hidden knowledge or am I a master of English? No. Is my vocabulary the greatest? No… but even without those aces up my sleeve I still consider myself to be a good writer and even if I am not, one thing is sure- I do not beat around the bush and neither should you.

Leave a Reply

