Rhetorical Question

Posted: January 22, 2015 in Poetry
Tags: , ,

This is one of my poems. I sometimes write poems based on fiction, because I feed off fiction and reality. The following poem is actually a humorous one I came up with. It is where humor and tragedy meet and I strive to do this in novels too.

Rhetorical Question

When I asked you to join me
that day, I needed the obvious
No.
that was simple.
Why?
I feed off despair and sadness,
but pity is taking it too far.

Your face read like a book.
I’m a writer… believe me I know.
A simple no, but no…yes.
Welcome to the pity party.
You could have been silent and
just shook your head.
Then your sorry made me sorry
like watching a bad talent show.

Perhaps I should have told you…
it was a rhetorical question.

Leave a Reply

