It is holiday, now the work begins

Posted: December 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

After three and a half weeks of exams I am glad to get back to my work. My real work, writing fiction. This holiday I have to finish my first draft of my novel, maybe today… also I need to find an editor.

After reading and talking with people, I like the idea of self publishing. For me it is all about reach, and uhh of course royalties, but let’s go with reach. In South Africa there are few international publications if you are not great. So a publisher may like my work or not, but if the people do not and I still get published I am stuck in my country and my country is not big on reading, compared to other nations of course. Some blame the awesome weather. Or love of sports or both. This may be a reason, but back to what I was saying. A little more than a year ago, I was writing an essay. This essay has turned into 73000 words through my grade 11 year. A very important year. I managed to write on weekends and holidays, but the more I wrote the more I got addicted to it. I realized something. I realized that writing made me feel good and without it I felt worse than I had before I started writing. I can never go back to not writing. Sure, I take breaks, but the old mind works differently. Today, I wrote down eight ideas I know will turn into novels one day, while I was at the grocer. This is not normal. My cellphone’s note application is littered with random sentences and ideas. I like it that way.

Those of you who have visited my blog, know I don’t plot, but I do draw beginnings, sometimes literally- hooray for stick men- and also endings. That is what I do. Now that my break has ended I have a lot of work to do. However, with the amount of joy I receive from editing and writing I don’t know if work is the right word, but it probably is. So, wherever you find yourself, winter or summer during this December or work or holiday go ahead and write if you have time. I know I will.

Leave a Reply

