Relationships (part 1)

Posted: November 8, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I introduced my ideas about characters before and I will continue to do so. I shift my focus onto something arguably as important and often stereotypical: relationships.

Where do you begin? Friends, acquaintances, romantic interests, enemies and family bonds like brothers and sisters, fathers and sons etc. This is a simple summary I quickly came up with. And let us not forget a relationship with authority.

Since relationships are one of the few things that writers need to keep as normal as possible, (unless your story is about a weird ones) certain things may look stereotypical, but aren’t. The way you treat them can lead to those clichés. Shall we explore a bit… scratch the surface? I begin with family bonds. Let us not remind ourselves that teenagers act out. (as an eye witness… I agree) They don’t always see eye to eye with their parents. The minority are wild though, so depicting a parent-teen relationship where the readers eyes will go rolling is a great possibility. Let me take a step back and focus on parent-child relationship. (doesn’t matter what age) Conflict will always arise. Be it rebellion, laziness and over protection. I am a fan of parent-child relationships. Few relationships effect other characters in a way that may change their worldview as much as this.

Moving on. Romance. I won’t try it yet as my mind is still hurting from all the fanatics of novels I haven’t read. I am not saying I won’t ever try this. I am still figuring out how I can utilize my creativity in this. They do exist in my novel, but play a very minor part. When done right you can make certain people cry. (may I mention a gender and age or will that be discriminate?) If you are really good you can make any reader emotional. Okay, most.

Friends. Who doesn’t want friends. Even I, as asocial as I am, want friends. So do characters. The strength of the bonds is up to the writer and his tales. Even groups of friends will work. Three Musketeers, anyone? Best friends also exist believe it or not and can be used efficiently. Sure, there are things we have seen before, but I won’t discard any of my summaries. What you make with it is up to you.

Enemies. This can vary from mere nemeses to literal enemies to opponents. It can also refer to the relationship between protagonist and antagonist. Without this my first novel would fall apart. To what lengths do they go to make each other angry or to beat each other?

Acquaintances can go hand in hand with the authoritative relationship I mentioned, but I will set them apart in my future discussions. Acquaintances: think about coworkers complaining about the boss who is clearly an authority figure. Your protagonist won’t dare to speak to a voice of authority as to his office buddies. No way. Unless he wants to quit his work in a unique way. I can see a lot of humour in these types of relationships.

Certain characters fall apart without these relationships and understandably so as they are great characterization tools. Please, comment on what you like to use and share your thoughts. I will go in depth when I have time and explore them in more detail.

Comments
  1. In fiction, I like both weird and normal relationships. It helps when the writer lets real life influences bleed through, though. I can usually tell when an author is mindlessly copying tropes and archetypes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

