Hook, line and what? (Part 2)

Posted: October 21, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Last time I discussed the hook. Now we head on.
The Line (aka the body)

What makes a line stronger than another? What makes it possible for the fisherman and fish to keep in contact? Why do some lines snap and let the fish get away and others don’t?

Readers will often complain about a boring plot or character.The truth is that the line is complicated. A line has to be strong. So what does it take to keep hold of a captive readership? Honestly honesty and creativity and technique. Assuming you have hooked the reader, you need to start to reel them in. Start by making conflict clear and build on that. The tension levels should vary and sometimes descriptions should be given.

Now this calls for balance. I am not going to tell you what that balance should be nor should I as I believe that each author knows their shortcomings. See, conflict is like the good fight a fisherman puts up with the fish. Giving them slack sometimes and then reeling them in.

The reel is a very important tool. For me the reel is my subtle revelations and relationships between characters. If they don’t work my readers won’t bother going further. When I say subtle revelations… this is personal. This is my technique. I do not bombard the reader with details. I slip them in. I give the readers chance to appreciate the fight. Because unlike regular fish in the writer world… the fish really want it. So when the action and dialogue are too much I give them time to relax and enjoy my fictive world. I give details. Like I said before… these fish are smart.

They know what they are fighting. They are headed towards a certain end. The line should keep them interested in the end. “But they don’t know the end.”
And neither should they, but you should give them an idea of what the journey holds. It is in these details that the fish should start to think what is going to happen next. Foreshadowing of course. Sorry, I can’t put this in a metaphor. Unless you have seen a crazy fisherman jumping up and down…
”I’m gonna eat you with butter and bread.”
Foreshadowing has to be subtle. If not, the line snaps immediately and the fish will tell his school not to bite that enticing hook.

On originality. It is not that important. Creativity is. You should show the reader what makes your line better. Throw in an unexpected twist. At the end if the line there will be air and the journey will continue.
For now… keep on fishing and biting.

Leave a Reply

